This Committee has responsibility for developing the FSC’s strategies and policies in relation to life insurance.

The Committee’s objectives are to:

  • develop policies and standards for the life insurance industry to support the provision of affordable and appropriate life insurance and financial protection for Australians;
  • encourage and support the industry to continually improve its efficiency and effectiveness for the benefit of its consumers;
  • improve levels of consumer awareness of the value of adequate levels of life insurance;
  • support and promote underwriting practices that are based on a fair and evidence-based assessment of risk;
  • maintain and increase consumer confidence in the life insurance industry; and
  • continually advocate an appropriate regulatory and tax regime to ensure the most efficient delivery of life insurance products to Australians. 

The Committee has oversight of the FSC’s relationship with relevant regulators and State and Federal government departments that have responsibility for life insurance, including: the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA); Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC); the Department of Treasury and State revenue offices.



The Committee comprises two members of the FSC's Board:

  1. FSC Director, Justin Delaney, Chief Executive Officer, Zurich Australia and New Zealand
  2. FSC Director, Nick Hamilton, CEO & Managing Director, Challenger Ltd


FSC Contacts

Nick Kirwan

Policy Director - Life Insurance
P: 02 8235 2511         
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Matthew Hawkes

Policy Manager - Life Insurance
P: 0414 629 559
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Life Board Committee

Adam Siddique

Head of Public & External Affairs

Zurich Financial Services Australia Ltd

Alex Homer

Chief Customer & Brand Officer

TAL Limited

Anthony Brown

Chief Executive Officer

NobleOak Life Ltd

Anton Kapel

CEO Life & Solutions

Challenger Ltd

Damien Mu

Chief Executive Officer & Director

AIA Australia Ltd

Dion Russell

Chief Executive Officer

SCOR Global Life Australia

Gerard Kerr

General Manager Life Insurance

Clearview Wealth Ltd

Gerd Obertopp

Managing Director

Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd

James Louw

Managing Director

Gen Re Life Australia Ltd

Kent Griffin

Chief Financial Officer

MLC Life Insurance

Kevin Keane

General Manager, Life

HCF Life

Leigh Watson

Head of L&H Client Markets, Australia & NZ, Director Reinsurance

Swiss Re Life and Health Australia Ltd

Mark Stewart

Managing Director

RGA Reinsurance Company of Australia Ltd

Megan Beer

Chief Executive Officer Australasia

Resolution Life and AMP Life

Nick Lethbridge Head of Product, Pricing & Data

Hallmark Life Insurance Company

Nico Carro Chief Executive Officer

Munich Reinsurance Company of Australasia Ltd

Phil Fraser Chief

QInsure Ltd

Richard Nunn

Chief Executive Officer

MetLife Insurance Ltd

Sean McCormack

Chief Executive Officer

Integrity Life Australia Ltd

Tyson Johnston

General Manager, Australia

Pacific Life Re (Australia) Pty Ltd


Life Board Committee meeting dates for 2022

All meetings will be held by videoconference from FSC offices.

Monday 14 February

10:00am – 12:00pm

Friday 1 April

10:00am – 12:00pm

Friday 27 May

10:00am – 12:00pm

Thursday 21 July

3:00pm – 5:00pm

Friday 2 September

10:00am – 12:00pm

Monday 14 November

10:00am – 12:00pm